Winners Announced: 2018 Best Practices Awards


At the 2018 Consumer Symposium, the Smart Energy Consumer Collaborative announced the winners of its inaugural Best Practices Awards, which were developed in 2017 to recognize programs and strategies from electricity providers that are shifting the focus of the energy industry to the consumer.

After receiving many nominations from the industry, the award winners were selected in November 2017 by an advisory panel of 13 industry experts from a wide range of non-utility industry stakeholders.

The five inaugural winners of the Best Practices Awards are:

  • Ameren Illinois has been awarded with the Smart Energy Innovation Award for their groundbreaking work around DER-focused microgrid.
  • CenterPoint Energy has been awarded with the Culture Transformation Award for nurturing a transition to a more customer-focused internal culture.
  • Colorado Springs Utilities has been awarded with the Consumer Engagement Award for launching the Change the Current initiative for community improvement.
  • Direct Energy has been awarded with the Underserved Markets Award for enabling millennials to better assist their lower-income neighbors with their energy bills.
  • Commonwealth Edison has been awarded with the Consumer Education Award for developed an engaging, multimedia education campaign on smart thermostats and other energy efficiency topics.

To learn more:

Read the press release > > >
Download the Best Practices Guide > > >
Register for the Feb. 21 webinar > > >